Affiliate Disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. NonToxicFinder (Solved Labs LLC) may earn commissions on qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you. We are not affiliated with, endorsed by, or partnered with the Environmental Working Group.
Quick Answer: What Do We Know About the Ninja Crispi’s Materials?
The Ninja Crispi’s cooking containers are glass, and Ninja’s own marketing says they are designed without PFAS and PTFE. That is a brand claim, not an independent lab finding, and no independent lab has tested this specific product. Ninja does not disclose what the crisper plate is made of. When we researched this on Sep 26, 2026, a CPSC.gov search showed no recall of the Ninja Crispi. NonToxicFinder is not affiliated with EWG.
The Ninja Crispi is SharkNinja's line of glass air fryers, sold in three tiers: a 4-in-1 base model, a 5-in-1, and a Pro 6-in-1. Here's what matters most if you're comparing it to a basket-style air fryer: the cooking containers are glass. The crisper plate insert and lid are not. Ninja's own marketing states the glass containers are designed "without forever chemicals, PFAS and PTFE," but no independent lab has tested this specific product, and Ninja does not publish what the metal crisper plate is made of. The base 4-in-1 (model FN101) includes a 6-cup and a 4-quart glass container, runs $118.95–$179.95 depending on color and stock, and the glass parts are dishwasher-, microwave-, and freezer-safe. It's a strong fit for one-to-two-person households that want to cook, store, and reheat in the same dish. It's a weaker fit for larger families or homes with young children in the kitchen: the glass exterior gets genuinely hot during cooking (see tradeoffs below). The rest of this article covers materials, evidence, capacity, cleaning, and who should buy (or skip) this product.
This is a deep dive on one product line. For a ranked comparison across ceramic, glass, and stainless air fryers by price tier, see our general guide to PFAS-free air fryers.
Which Ninja Crispi Model Are We Talking About?
"Ninja Crispi" is a product line, not one SKU. Three tiers are currently sold new by SharkNinja:
| Tier | Model prefix | Functions | Containers included | Wattage | List price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ninja Crispi (base), 4-in-1 | FN101 series | Air Fry, Max Crisp, Recrisp, Bake | 6-cup glass + 4-qt glass | 1,500W | $179.99 |
| Ninja Crispi, 5-in-1 | FN103 series | Adds Keep Warm | 6-cup + 2.5-qt + 4-qt glass | 1,500W | $219.99 |
| Ninja Crispi Pro, 6-in-1 | AS101 series | Max Crisp, Air Fry, Bake/Proof, Roast, Recrisp, Dehydrate, precision temperature dial | 2.5-qt + 6-qt glass (4-qt sold separately) | 1,800W | $299.99 |
Because the search term "ninja crispi" points to the base line rather than a specific tier, this article is anchored on the 4-in-1 base model (FN101 series), with the 5-in-1 and Pro 6-in-1 covered as step-up options below.
One note on naming: there is a separate, older Ninja AF100/AF101 "Ninja Air Fryer" with a ceramic-coated plastic/metal basket, a different product entirely, not part of the glass Crispi line covered here.
What's Actually Glass on the Ninja Crispi (and What Isn't)
Per Ninja's official owner's guide for the FN100 series, here is what each part is and isn't:
- Glass containers ("TempWare™ Glass"): freezer-safe, microwave-safe, dishwasher-safe. Not oven, stovetop, or broiler safe. This is where most food actually cooks: the manual's own instructions describe adding ingredients directly to the glass container, with the crisper plate as an optional elevating rack.
- Crisper plates: dishwasher-safe, not microwave or oven safe. The owner's manual does not state what material the crisper plate is made of and makes no PFAS/PTFE claim about it. Ninja's own standalone replacement-crisper-plate listing likewise gives no material spec. Some third-party sources describe it as aluminum with a nano-ceramic coating, but that claim could not be confirmed against a live Ninja-owned source, so this article does not assert it.
- Lids: plastic, BPA-free per Ninja. For microwave and storage use only, explicitly not glass.
- PowerPod (heating unit): not food-contact. Never dishwasher-safe; wipe with a damp cloth only.
Ninja's PFAS Claims: And What's Actually Been Verified
Ninja's own product pages for every Crispi tier state the glass containers are "designed for nontoxic cooking and storing without forever chemicals, PFAS and PTFE," and the Pro model's listing adds "PFAS- & PTFE-free cooking surfaces." That is a manufacturer marketing claim about the glass containers specifically, not an independent lab finding and not an EWG rating. Glass itself has no coating to begin with, which is consistent with the claim, but here is exactly where the evidence stands and where it doesn't:
What's substantiated: the glass containers are glass, and glass is inherently free of PFAS/PTFE by composition (no sol-gel or nonstick layer applied). One independent hands-on review outlet, TechGearLab, notes "no PTFE in the cooking surface" in its spec table, which reads as the outlet's own design assessment rather than a chemical lab assay.
What's not substantiated: no accredited third-party lab test, peer-reviewed study, or regulatory filing specific to the Ninja Crispi's materials was found in this research. The crisper plate's composition is not disclosed by Ninja at all, so it should not be described as either containing or lacking PFAS/PTFE: the honest answer is that Ninja doesn't say. A CPSC.gov recall search turned up no Ninja Crispi recall of any kind (the only current SharkNinja recall affects the unrelated Ninja Foodi OP300 pressure cooker line, a burn-hazard issue, not a Crispi product and not a chemical/coating issue).
One more item worth naming plainly: an attorney lead-generation page (unrelated to coatings) publishes unverified consumer reports of a specific unit (model FN101GNBL) overheating and tripping breakers. That is a labeled, unverified consumer complaint, not a CPSC recall or an independent finding, and it concerns electrical performance rather than PFAS or coating chemistry. It doesn't corroborate or contradict anything about the materials question above.
Capacity, Wattage, and Cleaning
Capacity (per Ninja.com): the base 4-in-1 includes a 6-cup and a 4-quart glass container. The 5-in-1 adds a 2.5-quart container (three total). The Pro 6-in-1 includes a 2.5-quart and a 6-quart container (the 6-quart is rated to fit a 7.5-lb chicken); a 4-quart container is sold separately for the Pro.
Wattage and temperature: the base and 5-in-1 run at 1,500W with fixed cooking-mode buttons (Air Fry, Max Crisp, Recrisp, Bake/Keep Warm), up to 450°F per Ninja.com, though the printed owner's manual itself only states voltage/wattage and doesn't print a °F figure. Only the Pro 6-in-1 (1,800W) has a manual precision temperature dial; the base and 5-in-1 do not.
Cleaning, per the official owner's manual:
| Part | Dishwasher safe? | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Glass containers | Yes | Also microwave- and freezer-safe. Let cool before washing: sudden temperature change can crack glass. |
| Crisper plates | Yes | Not microwave or oven safe. |
| Lids | Yes (top rack) | Freezer-safe; microwave-safe if not sealed on the container. Plastic, BPA-free. |
| Adapter | Yes | Not microwave or oven safe. |
| PowerPod (heating unit) | No | Never dishwasher or submerge. Wipe with a damp cloth only. |
Ninja Crispi vs. Other PFAS-Free Air Fryers
At $118.95–$179.95, the base 4-in-1 sits mid-pack against other glass air fryers on this site, the NOASVELE Glass 4-in-1 ($129.99) and Fritaire Glass 9-in-1 ($179.99), and above ceramic-coated budget picks. The Pro 6-in-1 at ~$299.99 is the second-most-expensive glass air fryer we cover, behind only the Typhur Dome 2 ($390, ceramic, not glass).
On capacity, the base 4-in-1's 4-quart main container is smaller than most standalone basket air fryers (Cosori 6 Qt, Bella 6 Qt) and much smaller than the Our Place Wonder Oven (13 Qt), better suited to one to three people unless you step up to the Pro's 6-quart container.
Unlike ceramic-coated baskets, which can degrade with metal utensils over time, the glass containers have no nonstick layer to scratch off: the manual's warnings are about the glass itself chipping or cracking from impact or thermal shock, a different failure mode than coating wear. The tradeoff runs the other way on temperature control: the base and 5-in-1 tiers use fixed cook-mode buttons with no manual temperature dial, while competing baskets like the Cosori and Bella offer adjustable ranges at a lower price than even the base Crispi.
One independently measured caution: TechGearLab's testing recorded the glass container's exterior reaching roughly 280.9°F during cooking, consistent with the manual's own repeated instructions to grasp glass containers only by the handles using oven mitts. That's worth factoring in for households with young children in the kitchen. On the upside, the same glass container that cooks the food can go straight to the fridge, freezer, microwave, or dishwasher without transferring food to a separate dish, a genuine convenience basket-style air fryers don't offer.
For PFAS-free swaps elsewhere in the kitchen, see our guides to PFAS-free cookware and PFAS-free alternatives around the house.
Who Should (and Shouldn't) Buy the Ninja Crispi
Good fit:
- One-to-two-person households or meal-preppers who want a single vessel to cook, serve, refrigerate/freeze, and reheat without dirtying extra dishes.
- Households specifically prioritizing a coating-free cooking surface who are willing to pay a premium for it over ceramic-coated baskets.
- Buyers satisfied with fixed cook modes (base/5-in-1) or willing to pay for the Pro 6-in-1's temperature dial.
Not a good fit:
- Larger families (4+) needing high-volume batch cooking: the base/5-in-1 tiers max out at a 4-quart container, smaller than most standalone basket air fryers.
- Households with young children underfoot during cooking, given the independently-measured ~280.9°F exterior glass temperature and the manual's repeated burn warnings.
- Buyers who want adjustable, precise temperature control on a budget: that's Pro-tier only, at roughly double the base price.
- Anyone who wants the appliance to double as an oven-, stovetop-, or broiler-safe vessel: the manual is explicit the glass containers are none of those.
Where to Buy
Ninja Crispi 4-in-1, Periwinkle (FN101PL): Base Model
Materials: Glass cooking containers (6-cup + 4-qt), Ninja states PFAS/PTFE-free; crisper plate material not disclosed by Ninja
Functions: Air Fry, Max Crisp, Recrisp, Bake
Power: 1,500W, fixed cook-mode buttons (no manual temperature dial)
Ninja Crispi 4-in-1 Glass Air Fryer, Periwinkle , Buy on Amazon ↗
Ninja Crispi 5-in-1, Emerald (FN103BF): Adds Keep Warm
Materials: Glass cooking containers (6-cup + 2.5-qt + 4-qt), Ninja states PFAS/PTFE-free; crisper plate material not disclosed by Ninja
Functions: Air Fry, Max Crisp, Recrisp, Bake, Keep Warm
Power: 1,500W, fixed cook-mode buttons (no manual temperature dial)
Ninja Crispi 5-in-1 Glass Air Fryer, Emerald , Buy on Amazon ↗
Ninja Crispi Pro 6-in-1, Ash Grey (AS101DG): Precision Temperature Dial
Materials: Glass cooking containers (2.5-qt + 6-qt; 4-qt sold separately), Ninja states PFAS/PTFE-free cooking surfaces; crisper plate material not disclosed by Ninja
Functions: Max Crisp, Air Fry, Bake/Proof, Roast, Recrisp, Dehydrate
Power: 1,800W with precision temperature dial
Ninja Crispi Pro 6-in-1 Glass Air Fryer, Ash Grey , Buy on Amazon ↗
Does EWG Rate the Ninja Crispi?
No. EWG does not rate or verify air fryers of any kind: EWG VERIFIED® covers personal care, cleaning, and baby products only. No Ninja Crispi model carries, or can carry, the EWG VERIFIED® mark, and this article makes no EWG rating claim about this product. The only legitimate EWG connection for this category is EWG's own published PFAS research, which recommends households consider moving away from PTFE-coated cooking appliances generally (a category-level research citation, not an endorsement of this or any specific product). Every "PFAS-free" or "nontoxic" claim about the Ninja Crispi in this article is attributed to Ninja's own marketing, not to EWG.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q: Is the Ninja Crispi PFAS-free?
The glass cooking containers are glass, which has no nonstick coating and is inherently free of PFAS/PTFE by composition, consistent with Ninja's own marketing claim that the containers are designed "without forever chemicals, PFAS and PTFE." No independent lab has tested this specific product's materials, and Ninja does not disclose what the metal crisper plate is made of, so that part's composition should not be characterized one way or the other.
Q: What parts of the Ninja Crispi are glass, and what isn't?
The cooking containers (the 6-cup, 2.5-qt, and 4-qt/6-qt vessels depending on tier) are glass. The crisper plate insert, the lid, and the adapter are not glass: the lid is plastic (BPA-free per Ninja), and Ninja doesn't publish the crisper plate's material. The PowerPod heating unit is not food-contact.
Q: Does EWG rate or endorse the Ninja Crispi?
No. EWG VERIFIED® applies only to personal care, cleaning, and baby products, never kitchen appliances. This product carries no EWG rating of any kind. Any EWG reference in this article is to their published category-level PFAS research, not a rating of this product.
Q: What's the difference between the base Ninja Crispi, the 5-in-1, and the Pro 6-in-1?
The base 4-in-1 (FN101) has a 6-cup and 4-qt glass container and four fixed cook modes. The 5-in-1 (FN103) adds a 2.5-qt container and a Keep Warm mode. The Pro 6-in-1 (AS101) swaps in a 2.5-qt and 6-qt container (4-qt sold separately), runs at higher wattage (1,800W), and is the only tier with a manual precision temperature dial.
Q: Is the Ninja Crispi dishwasher safe?
The glass containers, crisper plates, lids (top rack), and adapter are all dishwasher-safe per Ninja's owner's manual. The PowerPod heating unit is never dishwasher-safe and should only be wiped with a damp cloth.
Q: Who shouldn't buy the Ninja Crispi?
Larger families needing high-volume batch cooking (the base/5-in-1 max out at a 4-quart container), households with young children in the kitchen during cooking (the glass exterior measured roughly 280.9°F in independent testing), buyers who want adjustable temperature control without paying for the Pro tier, and anyone who needs the vessel to double as an oven-, stovetop-, or broiler-safe dish.
Affiliate Disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. NonToxicFinder (Solved Labs LLC) may earn commissions on qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you. We are not affiliated with, endorsed by, or partnered with the Environmental Working Group.




